A (serious) Black Friday Story From The Unappreciated Pastor

29 Nov

The day after Thanksgiving (a few years ago) was an eventful one for me and my family. We witnessed an unusual amount of security guards, screaming children and irate adults. Yes, we shopped on Black Friday. And we did it in Jacksonville Florida! We didn’t leave at 4:00 AM like some of you may have, but we spent about six hours shopping anyway. We made the usual rounds, stopped off for some lunch and bought most of our stuff at Kohl’s. It was our time in Kohl’s that inspired this blog 

I was chosen to be the one to stand in line while my wife and her grandmother continued shopping. To say the least, it was looong. I have to say, I’d rather stand in line than try to keep up with my wife in a department store. At least then she knows where I am (I tend to drift away and get lost). So I’m standing in line making conversation with the lady behind me. She had a lot of stuff. I had a few items, but I was sporting something that caught her eye, it was something she didn’t have. It was a card that my wife got in the mail that rewarded the holder with an extra 15% off of the entire purchase. She wanted to know where I got it. And then she let me know in a round about way how fortunate I was. I could tell she was coveting my card. So I decided to offer her my card. We made a deal. She would just follow me to whatever check out line that took me and I would discreetly pass the card off to her. I know that there was nothing immoral or illegal about sharing my card with her, but for some reason I didn’t want the check out lady to see me do it. This did add a little excitement to the monotony of standing in a 100 yard long line. 

So I paid for my stuff and passed the card off to her. By this time my wife had joined me. She stood by the door waiting on my new friend to bring our card back to us (It was good through Saturday). When the lady handed the card back off to my wife she was excited. She told us that we had saved her $30.00! I let out a “Praise the Lord!” Then I felt the Lord tug at my heart. He was telling me to tell this woman about Christ and how He saves us more than money, He saves us from our sin. The flesh rose up and convinced me that the store was too busy and this wasn’t the place. Unfortunately, I failed to share Christ with the woman. I had to repent over that. The Lord showed me that I had missed an opportunity to talk about the real meaning of Christmas. 

My wife and I discussed, as we passed all the people standing in line, how we could charge folks $5.00 a piece to use our card. We laughed a little. But inside I was hurting. I think we can all learn something from this. Let’s not let the chaos of the season keep us from sharing Christ. We will all have a number of opportunities to share Jesus over the Christmas season. Sure we can come up with many reasons not to. But in the end, they are just excuses. People need Jesus more than they need a sweater or the latest DVD. It’s easy to be consumed with the people centered gospel of the media and the mall. Let’s make our focus Christ. He is a gift to unworthy sinners available to all who will repent and trust in Him. Let us not be ashamed of that. 

4 Responses to “A (serious) Black Friday Story From The Unappreciated Pastor”

  1. smfearing November 29, 2013 at 11:08 am #

    Well said! I have long enjoyed your posts and this one is no exception!

    http://www.stephenmfearing.com
    Life, Liturgy, and the Wonder of Worship

  2. smfearing November 29, 2013 at 11:11 am #

    Well said! I have long enjoyed your posts and this one is no exception!

    http://www.stephenmfearing.com
    Life, Liturgy, and the Wonder of Worship

  3. Rick November 29, 2013 at 11:25 am #

    I know that feeling of guilt. Talked myself out of many opportunities to share Christ’s story with people that God put in my path. Thanks for sharing. At least I know now I am not the only one who does this.

  4. pastorlinzey November 30, 2013 at 10:55 pm #

    Thanks for sharing the serious as well as the humorous.

Leave a Reply

