Hello, My Name is Church

16 Oct

 

Hello my name is church,

I’m sure you’ve heard a lot about me. I have no shortage of critics. Perhaps you have heard that I am…

Boring

Shallow

Cheap

A waste of time

 

You’ve heard that I am full of

 

Hypocrites

Clowns

Greedy people

The self- righteous

 

Maybe you have visited me before and discovered

 

Horrible music

Passionless singing

Dry preaching

Rude congregants

 

Maybe you needed me and I was

 

Too busy

Too “righteous”

Too broke

Too blind

 

Maybe you joined me and found I was

 

Distant

Demanding

Dull

Preoccupied

 

Maybe you tried to serve in me but were caught off guard by

 

Business meetings

Committees

Teams

Bureaucracy

 

Maybe you left and were surprised that nobody

 

Called

Cared

Noticed

Invited you back

 

 

Perhaps your experience has driven you to

 

Speak negatively of me

Swear to never come back to me

Proclaim that no one needs me

Believe you’re better off without me

 

 

If this is true, I have something to say to you

 

I’m sorry

I was wrong

I blew it

I made a huge mistake

 

But remember, I never said my name was

 

Perfect

Flawless

Complete

Arrived

 

My name is church. I welcome the

 

Hypocrite

Dry

Self-righteous

Shallow

 

I welcome the

 

Sincere

Passionate

Forgiving

Selfless

 

I cannot shut my doors to the people who make you

 

Angry

Uncomfortable

Impatient

Self-conscious

 

But I would remind you that we couldn’t always worship in the same room. In the Old Testament there was a division between the

 

Gentile

Jew

Man

Woman

 

In order for us to all worship in the same room Christ was

 

Shamed

Beaten

Killed

Resurrected

 

 

Which is far worse than being

 

Bored

Uncomfortable

Embarrassed

Ignored

 

So why not come back to church and let all of these messed up people

 

Challenge you

Sharpen you

Strengthen you

Humble you.

 

I can’t promise you that the people will be great.  This is church. It’s not

 

Heaven

Paradise

Beulah Land

The Celestial city

 

Come back.

 

God wants you here

The body needs you here

The world needs your witness here.

You belong here.

 

Hello, my name is church

 

I miss you

I love you

I’m sorry

Can’t wait to see you.

45 Responses to “Hello, My Name is Church”

  1. pastorlinzey October 16, 2013 at 3:08 pm #

    This is excellent. Thanks for posting.

  2. priest's wife (@byzcathwife) October 16, 2013 at 3:17 pm #

    THIS.IS.EPIC. just had to say….

  3. Sandy Blakely Duke October 16, 2013 at 5:06 pm #

    This is

    true

    beautiful

    art

    inspiring.

  4. Jen K-M October 16, 2013 at 5:59 pm #

    Word.

  5. Robert Macleod October 16, 2013 at 8:19 pm #

    This is brilliant

    • Marquisa October 17, 2013 at 11:50 am #

      TOTALLY AWSOME, TRUE, INSPIRING AND THE CHURCH AS I SEE AND LOVE…

  6. Tom Tanner October 17, 2013 at 7:55 pm #

    Reblogged this on Purpose, Process, & Intent and commented:
    Great post!

  7. dommichlew October 20, 2013 at 10:01 pm #

    Reblogged this on and commented:
    omgosh. Lord had mercy. so timely.

  8. Vicki Popwell October 21, 2013 at 1:47 pm #

    WOW! Such great and insightful thoughts and written with a wonderful flow.

  9. pastormack October 22, 2013 at 9:03 am #

    This is so much better than the shallow “Jesus vs. religion” stuff we often see on the internet. Very moving and honest. Thank you.

  10. Cheryl Stratton October 25, 2013 at 10:22 am #

    May I print this and post it in church. How would you like it credited?

    • unappreciatedpastor October 25, 2013 at 11:58 am #

      Just say “All glory and honor goes to the Unapp…” Ha. Just point them to my Twitter and Face book page as well as my blog. I go by The Unappreciated pastor. This is an ANON account! Glad you enjoyed it.

  11. revjackal October 30, 2013 at 11:12 am #

    Not sure how this works, but wondered about permissions to post this in a church newsletter. Any thoughts?

    • revjackal October 30, 2013 at 11:13 am #

      Thanks. Saw your reply.

    • unappreciatedpastor October 30, 2013 at 1:13 pm #

      It’s fine to reprint it. Just refernce folks to the Unappreciated Pastor on twitter, facebook and the blog if you don’t mind

      • Cheryl Stratton October 31, 2013 at 11:18 am #

        thank you!

  12. bigpmal February 24, 2014 at 5:57 am #

    Reblogged this on paulmaloney and commented:
    Church is not perfect but Jesus is….

  13. Pastor Lamb February 28, 2014 at 8:31 pm #

    Reblogged this on Overheard and commented:
    Hello my name is church,

    I’m sure you’ve heard a lot about me. I have no shortage of critics. Perhaps you have heard that I am…

    Boring

    Shallow

    Cheap

    A waste of time

    You’ve heard that I am full of

    Hypocrites

    Clowns

    Greedy people

    The self- righteous

    Maybe you have visited me before and discovered

    Horrible music

    Passionless singing

    Dry preaching

    Rude congregants

    Maybe you needed me and I was

    Too busy

    Too “righteous”

    Too broke

    Too blind

    Maybe you joined me and found I was

    Distant

    Demanding

    Dull

    Preoccupied

    Maybe you tried to serve in me but were caught off guard by

    Business meetings

    Committees

    Teams

    Bureaucracy

    Maybe you left and were surprised that nobody

    Called

    Cared

    Noticed

    Invited you back

    Perhaps your experience has driven you to

    Speak negatively of me

    Swear to never come back to me

    Proclaim that no one needs me

    Believe you’re better off without me

    If this is true, I have something to say to you

    I’m sorry

    I was wrong

    I blew it

    I made a huge mistake

    But remember, I never said my name was

    Perfect

    Flawless

    Complete

    Arrived

    My name is church. I welcome the

    Hypocrite

    Dry

    Self-righteous

    Shallow

    I welcome the

    Sincere

    Passionate

    Forgiving

    Selfless

    I cannot shut my doors to the people who make you

    Angry

    Uncomfortable

    Impatient

    Self-conscious

    But I would remind you that we couldn’t always worship in the same room. In the Old Testament there was a division between the

    Gentile

    Jew

    Man

    Woman

    In order for us to all worship in the same room Christ was

    Shamed

    Beaten

    Killed

    Resurrected

    Which is far worse than being

    Bored

    Uncomfortable

    Embarrassed

    Ignored

    So why not come back to church and let all of these messed up people

    Challenge you

    Sharpen you

    Strengthen you

    Humble you.

    I can’t promise you that the people will be great. This is church. It’s not

    Heaven

    Paradise

    Beulah Land

    The Celestial city

    Come back.

    God wants you here

    The body needs you here

    The world needs your witness here.

    You belong here.

    Hello, my name is church

    I miss you

    I love you

    I’m sorry

    Can’t wait to see you.

  14. sierrajoyy March 1, 2014 at 4:27 am #

    I love this 🙂
    Please view my post on life lessons and let me know what you think: http://sierraeatscleanlivesclean.wordpress.com/2014/03/01/random-life-lessons-ive-learned-about-people/

  15. JD Blom March 1, 2014 at 11:46 am #

    Reblogged this on A DEVOTED LIFE.

  16. Beth Ann March 1, 2014 at 11:54 am #

    Love it. Thanks!

  17. debbestillandlisten March 1, 2014 at 12:20 pm #

    Wow, this certainly says it all!

  18. theenglishrose2014 March 1, 2014 at 12:37 pm #

    Love, love! Perfect. 🙂

  19. theenglishrose2014 March 1, 2014 at 12:38 pm #

    Reblogged this on englishrose2014 and commented:
    Love, love this!

  20. tellthetruth1 March 1, 2014 at 12:39 pm #

    This is so strong. It’s giving me pause for thought at the moment. Thank you for writing it.

  21. jaynerich March 1, 2014 at 12:49 pm #

    Love this!

  22. Planting Potatoes March 1, 2014 at 1:18 pm #

    Reblogged this on plantingpotatoes and commented:
    so glad God led me to this blog to see something that I needed to read…..

  23. thethinkingofthoughts2013 March 1, 2014 at 1:29 pm #

    Sadly honest

  24. theredeemerlives March 1, 2014 at 2:20 pm #

    Love it!

  25. feelingpaint March 1, 2014 at 3:51 pm #

    Inspired!!!!!!

  26. vwoods1212 March 2, 2014 at 3:10 am #

    All the above; so funny. W

  27. vwoods1212 March 2, 2014 at 3:11 am #

    Reblogged this on vwoods1212 and commented:
    Funny, so true.

  28. inspiredart03 March 2, 2014 at 7:44 am #

    Wow! This is great. It says it how i never could. Thank you.

  29. inspiredart03 March 2, 2014 at 7:56 am #

    Reblogged this on Inspired Art and commented:
    This really is so spot on..

  30. talkkindnesstome March 2, 2014 at 10:07 am #

    Awesome! I’m sure in my lifetime I’ve heard all the excuses/reasons and thankfully even a few of the pleases.

  31. inthepottershands988 March 2, 2014 at 7:53 pm #

    Hello! Wow! I loved this. Loved the challenge and the invitation! I am going to repost this. Blessings in Christ!

  32. inthepottershands988 March 2, 2014 at 7:55 pm #

    Reblogged this on In The Potter's Hands and commented:
    “Hello my name is church, I’m sure you’ve heard a lot about me. I have no shortage of critics. Perhaps you have heard that I am…” A challenge and an invitation to be a part of a community of believers who are not perfect, but are a part of an imperfect progress towards becoming more like Christ. Great post and beautifully written!

  33. secretangel March 3, 2014 at 11:46 am #

    Awesome. Love this.

  34. Sheila March 9, 2014 at 9:37 pm #

    Love this! Simply expressed but very powerful! ~ Sheila

  35. Anonymous May 24, 2014 at 10:42 am #

    Thank you for another informative web site. The place else could I
    get that kind of information written in such a perfect method?
    I’ve a challenge that I’m simply now running on, and I’ve been at the look
    out for such info.

  36. quirkywritingcorner June 5, 2014 at 9:09 pm #

    Reblogged this on quirkywritingcorner and commented:
    This is great!! Truly, well thought out.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hello, My Name is Church | Mercee Me! - October 16, 2013

    […] Hello, My Name is Church. […]

  2. Post from “The Unappreciated Pastor” | Wheat and Wine - November 9, 2013

    […] know I’m supposed to be writing my story. But I found a post called Hello, My Name is Church, from The Unappreciated Pastor, and I’m linking to it. It’s […]

  3. Hello, My Name is Church | devo a day - March 5, 2014

    […] Hello, My Name is Church. […]

Leave a Reply

