Why I Don’t Quit

16 May

It was a cold Friday morning. As a bi-vocational pastor, Friday was my day off. The kids were in school & my wife was at work. I like to do two things on my day off: fish and hunt. Hunting season wasn’t in so I headed to the Suwanee river. I don’t have a boat so I’d be fishing off the bank. I would get to the river by passing through a church members private property and then driving down a trail in the woods. My spot was very secluded and very quiet. Just the way I like it.

My wife had already told me I shouldn’t go fishing. She is a city girl. She believes that one day I will get eaten by some wild animal or killed by an escape convict hiding in the woods. Plus she told me it was too cold and I would get sick. Now don’t misunderstand me. I love my wife. She is a great wife and a great mother. Problem is, she has three kids I have two. 

So I’m enjoying my day. But honestly it was windy and pretty cold. I was fishing for catfish. I love catfish. I usually take a couple of poles. So after setting up one of my poles I laid it down. I walked away for just a moment to work on another set up. I was about 30 feet from my rod when I realized I had a fish on. The whole thing was heading into the Suwanee River. It left the bank and sped hurriedly with the current. I jumped into the river to get my pole. My foot sank into a hole and I went face first into the river. By God’s grace I caught my pole. I stood up and realized I still had the fish. After a good fight I landed the beast. Two massive pounds of catfish.

I was drenched from head to toe. I was cold. I was bleeding from my dash against the rocks. And then I remembered that my wife had sent her cell phone with me. It was in my pocket. It was wet. It didn’t work. In the quiet of the early morning I could hear my wife who happened to be about 40 miles away at work. She said a lot to me…..and about me. 

I prayed that day….for my wife’s cell phone. After I took it apart and broke out the hair dryer the Lord resurrected it. I was grateful for that. I cleaned my fish, picked up the kids and waited for my wife to get home. When she arrived I told her the whole story. I’ll spare you the details. But to summarize it ” You’re gonna get killed out there one day!” was pretty much all that was said.

Honestly I did feel like an idiot. I did look like an idiot. I was wet. I was cold. I was hurt. But you know what? I’m still going to go fishing. You know why? Because I love fishing. And that’s why I keep at this thing we call ministry. There are times I am embarrassed. There are times I am beat up and overwhelmed with the storms of life. There are times I do dumb things and make a fool of myself. There are times the cold winds of loneliness blow against me. But I keep going. I keep running this race. Because quiet honestly, I love fishing. I love bringing Christ glory by sharing the gospel with a lost world. To a lot of folks it doesn’t make sense. But to me it makes perfect sense. I’m a fisher of men. And I always will be. Jesus told me to follow Him and He would make me into one. He has done just that and I am glad.

14 Responses to “Why I Don’t Quit”

  1. mattyb996 May 16, 2013 at 4:46 pm #

    Hey man, thank you for sharing your heart like that. Had a rough night last night with the kids (youth pastor) and i wanted to quit. Spent a lot of time questioning all God wants me to do. Saw this via Twitter and clicked it just to read something. But the more I read, the I didnt feel like I was alone.Thanks again for the Hebrews 3:13 bro. God bless you in what he has for you.

    • unappreciatedpastor May 16, 2013 at 4:49 pm #

      keep on going man. It’s tough. I have been where you are many times. God bless you bro!

    • Scott C December 2, 2013 at 9:42 pm #

      Man I have been going through some of the same stuff man! Our Senior Pastor resigned several months ago under some pressure and a lot of our youth and their families have left the church so it has been very discouraging and yesterday was another one of those days when i felt like just getting out. Thankful that God is still there for us especially when we are at our weakest!

  2. preacherkeith May 16, 2013 at 5:10 pm #

    Reblogged this on preacherkeith's Blog and commented:
    This is a wonderful explanation of why Pastors just keep going…even when they are tempted to quit.

  3. Pastor Harold May 16, 2013 at 5:17 pm #

    Well said my brother, that is a great analogy and one I can relate to.

  4. timothydmorgan May 18, 2013 at 8:33 am #

    You have certainly made an impact on my life. I’m a small church pastor in Mississippi and I have benefited from your humor. Your twitter feed has been a God-send. I’m glad to know that your aren’t afraid to share your heart. Please keep it up. Thank you so much.

  5. Yvonne Trimble May 20, 2013 at 8:44 am #

    Nicely told! I am a missionary for 35 years; forgotten, un rewarded, underpaid, unrecognized by the church. But at the center of Christ’s will and vision, quitting is never an option!

  6. healthyliving1977 October 9, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

    lol…..Preachers have the most drama, i tell ya!

  7. Laureen October 10, 2013 at 2:09 am #

    Thank you for this. Tuesday night prayer meeting was so horrible that I’ve been writing and rewriting my letter of resignation since. Feeling spiritually shredded and incapable of the task.

  8. Todd December 2, 2013 at 4:59 pm #

    Very timely… Today is one of those days where I’m asking if its worth it…

  9. tediewest December 2, 2013 at 6:53 pm #

    Excellent! I love your tweets too!

  10. davidhellsten December 3, 2013 at 12:42 pm #

    Thanks for that encouragement (now I have another reason for not going fish-fishing…)! It’s true even if it sounds cheesy: preaching the Gospel is its own reward, and it’s worth all the hard stuff. Let’s keep man-fishing!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Seven-05.21.13 | Dead Pastors Society - May 21, 2013

    […] 3) Let’s face it, being a pastor is tough, it can really, really get you down emotionally and physically…Here is an interesting article from THE UNAPPRECIATED PASTOR  called: “Why I Don’t Quit“ […]

Leave a Reply

